Posted by: ralphy36 | January 3, 2009

It has been too long

I wish I had more time to blog. I really do miss it, but things are so busy here. I am going to try to make a conscious effort to post once a week.

I hope everyone had as wonderful a holiday as we did. My little sister had her baby on the 14th. His name is Ethan and he is adorable. It is nice that Nathaniel will have a cousin about his age to play with. Nathaniel got to meet Ethan at Christmas and was suitably unimpressed. This time next year I think they will be good buddies. Since Ethan was so little on Christmas Eve, we postponed our usual big Christmas Eve festivities until tomorrow.

In other news, my little man turned one on December 5. I absolutely cannot believe it. On December 5, 2007, Nathaniel weighed 8 pounds and was 19 inches long. On December 5, 2008 he weighed 24 pounds and was 32 inches long. He has grown so much. Walking is now his preferred method of transportation. He is a lot like his Aunt Becca. He is into everything and tries to climb anything he can get near. Nathaniel is a great eater and eats pretty much anything we do. He even likes saurkraut:) On the language front, he has good receptive language skills and seems to understand basic instructions with visual cues. I am trying not to be concerned about his expressive language skills though. Most of the children in his day care “class” are saying bye bye, mama and dada. Nathaniel is definitely speaking, but it is currently in his own dialect that sounds a lot like a Scandinavian language. The only word he uses with consistency is uh-oh. He is also starting to use a little bit of sign language, particularly around the topic of eating:) I know his hearing was probably muffled due to all the fluid build up in his ears from the ear infections and we did notice a big leap in his language just after the ear tube surgery in October so I am hoping he will stay within normal range. I am so glad we did the surgery. He has not had any ear infections since that time which means no antibiotics or diarrhea for him and no time away from work for me. Plus he is obviously much more comfortable and is even more tolerant of long car trips through the mountains. YAY!

Here are a few pictures for you.
0006

0041

I have been stitching too. I did a birth sampler for little Ethan. I forgot to take a picture of it before I delivered it. Bad Leslie. I have also been working on Marie’s neighborhood RR. It should be done soon and on its way home as I am the last stitcher. She had a neighborhood theme and it is absolutely gorgeous. I hope she likes it. Will post a picture when I am done with my block

Happy Friday!

Responses

  1. What lovely pictures! He’s really growing up fast 🙂

  2. So adorable! What a sweet little man.

  3. He’s such a cutie! Glad to hear that both he and you are doing well!

  4. Nathaniel is adorable! I’m glad to hear he’s doing so well. Don’t worry too much about his language. We used to say Josh spoke Joshua-ese, and he did that until he was about three. His communication skills are more than fine now. I wonder now how much the delay was due to hearing issues now that you mention it….

    Happy New Year!

  5. He is adorable! I started reading your blog just about the time he was born.

  6. Good to see you blogging again Leslie. Those are lovely photos of your son, he’s gorgeous!


Leave a Reply

Categories

