Posted by: ralphy36 | March 30, 2008

I can’t believe it…(pardon the long post)

My munchkin is four months old. I can’t believe Nathaniel is that old already. The last sixteen weeks, particularly since I have been back to work, have really been a blur. Over the last eight weeks, he really has become a little man and is making great strides developmentally. It really is amazing all that he can do now. He grasps at things with his hands, can “accidentally” transfer things from one hand to the other, puts things into his mouth, sits up well with support and lifts his head when laying on his tummy. His legs are also very strong and when on his stomach he can lift up his bottom and almost scoots his face across the floor. He gets kind of frustrated that his back end is ready to go, but his front end just isn’t quite strong enough. It really has been fun to watch him grow. The only bad developmental issue that I think we are running into now is that I am pretty sure that his teeth are starting to bud. A lot of people think I am crazy when I say that, but in the last ten days, the volume of drool he produces has multiplied a hundred fold and he chews on anything he can get in his mouth. In addition he is definitely less smiley and giggly than he was a week ago due to the discomfort. We will find out what the pediatrician thinks on April 8 when we go for his four month appointment. And as you look at the following pictures, yes he is a chunker. Last I weighed him he was a little over 17 pounds. I love all his rolls:)

Here he is “watching TV” in his crib
img_2165.jpg
And here he is sleeping.
img_2143.jpg
Her he is with Opa wearing the Hershey Park hat he got for easter.
img_2887.jpg
And lifting his head…
img_2901.jpg

Unfortunately, in other areas, it has been a bad week for me. Right before heading back to work, I started to have really bad insomnia and developed mild anxiety symptoms similar to what I had experienced when I was in college. I figured it was just nerves regarding leaving Nathaniel in day care and heading back to work after three months, but things haven’t gotten better over the last month. Despite the lack of improvement, I kept telling myself I could handle it on my own. When Allen and I decided to try to get pregnant, I was so proud that I was finally able to stop taking the teeny tiny dose of anxiety meds I had been taking since then end of college. After Nathaniel was born I knew that I would be a little more susceptible to postpartum depression/anxiety than your average new mommy, but I was determined to do it on my own. On Thursday the anxiety got to be so paralyzing and physically painful I gave in and headed out to the doctor. It was just too much to not sleep and have the discomfort of having my muscles sit in a tensed position all day. Three days of a teeny dose of anti-anxiety meds later, I am worrying less about stupid stuff and I can finally feel my muscles relax a bit. Typing this at the end of the day is a bit uncomfortable, but it is better than where I was a few days ago. I was totally spent after a day at work and the little energy I had left of course went to caring for and playing with my munchkin. Today was the first time in a while that I had the physical energy to stitch. I pulled out Deb’s RR and worked a bit more on it. Here is what I have so far.
img_2916.jpg
It is a really pretty house from The Workbasket Morbid Pities series. I had a great time working on it today.

Responses

  1. Nathaniel is just gorgeous! I remember when my nephew Niall was teething his drool output seemed to treble overnight! Sending you hugs too!

  2. Awww, he sure is cute! I’m glad to hear that you’re feeling better and hope that things continue to improve!

  3. Oh my, he continues to be very photogenic! Beautiful Baby.

  4. Sweet baby!

  5. your little boy is just a darling Leslie, wow, four months old already 🙂 take care of yourself hun 🙂

  6. Leslie, he just gets cuter and cuter everytime I see a new picture of him!!

  7. Nathaniel is so cute! I can’t believe it’s already been four months. Time flies!

    Don’t be too hard on yourself for having to take anxiety meds. We all need a little help from time to time and we can’t be held responsible for imbalances in our body’s chemicals. Give yourself a break and relax. *hug*

  8. Nathaniel is just beautiful!! Sorry you’re having a bit of a rough time, hope the meds get everything evened out for you 😉

  9. Nathaniel sure looks like you! So sweet!

  10. He’s a cutie 🙂 My two started teething at 4 months so it’s possible.

  11. He is precious! My guy is 14 months and yes, the time just flies by, doesn’t it? Enjoy 🙂

    Tanya

  12. Glad to hear that you are getting some relief from the anxiety. That house for Deb is going to be lovely!


Leave a Reply

Categories

