Posted by: ralphy36 | February 22, 2008

Grand Finale!

I did it, I finally did it. I finished German Garden today. Nathaniel took some good naps and went to bed with no fussing, so I got some lovely stitching time in. Here is my finished Garden.

img_2862.jpg

I am so thankful it is finally finished. I thought it would never be done. This weekend I will spend a little time working on Bine’s RR and then on to M9 which is next on my rotation. I need to come up with a reasonable completion type goal for that as I think I am going to be demotivated by a time goal. I have not been at all keen on that piece either. There are other things that are really calling me.

On to some sad news…my maternity leave officially ends next week. Nathaniel will be twelve weeks old next Wednesday and I am back to work on March 3. He is going to be starting day care for half days Monday through Wednesday of next week and Thursday and Friday he will be doing full days. I am very sad:( I really wish I could stay home with him! Over the weekend I will be planning a list of things to do to occupy myself while he is gone. At least once I am at work I will be busy enough to keep from thinking about him every second, but next week will be hard. The up side is I can get a few chores done that are near impossible while he is at home. I also plan on using either Thursday or Friday exclusively for movies and stitching. Yippee!

Responses

  1. Just beautiful Leslie!! Congratulations!

    Will be thinking of you as you prepare to return to work. (hugs)

  2. Congratulations on your finish! I have that project still hiding in my drawer (hasn’t been touched since class!)

    I hope your transition back into work goes smoothly!

  3. Lovely finish, it looks stunning.

  4. Your garden looks beautiful! Congratulations on the finish. I know that it will be hard to leave Nathaniel, but you’ll be so happy to see him when it is time to come home!

  5. Congrats on the finish, it’s beautiful.

    I never could put my kids in day care. When they were little, my hubby worked days and I worked part time evenings, so they were always home with one of us. I am sad for you, any way you can stay home with him?

  6. That turned out so well!! Congratulations!

  7. Leslie,

    I’ve been lurking for a while. Your work is lovely. And congrats on the loveliest achievement of all–Nathaniel. There’s just nothing right about a 12-week maternity leave. Move to Canada, work for a government and you get a full year off.

  8. What a wonderful finish!

  9. Awww I’m sorry to hear you have to go back to work so soon! In Canada maternitey leave is a year so you really have time to bond with your baby! I’m sure he’ll adjust to being in day care, but it’ll be hard at first on both of you!

    Congratulations on your finish its fantastic!

  10. Stunningly lovely! Congratulations!!!! It is gorgeous šŸ™‚

    I’m so sorry to hear that you’ve got to go back to work, I remember that well, when I had to take my first baby to daycare…awful, terrible…Thankfully after my second pregnancy and we were the proud owner of three children, I just stayed at home, and worked weekends after they were 1 year old (the twins that is) Just kept doing that and it’s so nice that my profession allows me to work “off hours” not many people want to work evenings/weekends, but there are always sick people no matter what the time of day or week… šŸ™‚

  11. That is so pretty. Great job on it.

  12. Beautiful finish

    I hope your return to work and daycare go smoothly

  13. Great finish Leslie. I hope your return to work goes well.

  14. A wonderful finish.

  15. It’s gorgeous!!

    Sorry to hear that your mat leave is over so soon. Hope the adjustment for you and Nathaniel is an easy one… {{{hugs}}}. I had a year and it was still way too soon.

  16. Congrats on the finish, Leslie! German Garden looks wonderful and you did a great job on it.

    I hope that you and Nathaniel are able to make the transition without too much trouble.

  17. Absolutely gorgeous! Congratulations!!

  18. Gorgeous! Congrats on an awesome finish. I need to get back to M9 too, other things just keep popping up. Enjoy your movie/stitching day!


Leave a Reply

Categories

