Posted by: ralphy36 | October 14, 2007

Neverending Beading

Alright I haven’t been around for a while. Work has been increadibly busy lately. I had two days last week where I ended up staying afterhours to finish up reports. I don’t have to do that very often. I think it is just the combination of having one or two short notice assessments and wanting to make sure I stay on top of everything at work. With knowing that I am going out on maternity leave sometime in the next 6ish weeks, I am finding I am less likely to leave less pressing things for “catch-up Friday” like I normally would. I am doing my best to not do too much each day, but I hate the idea of leaving things half finished for one of my poor co-workers to try and figure out when I leave…especially as you need a decoder ring to decipher the handwriting on my assessment notes:) I can’t believe how little time I have left!

Since the last time I posted, I actually have been stitching. I got a little bit of work done on Outi’s Winter Dragon, but still feel increadibly frustrated by it. I ran out of two colors of blending filament from the kit I was using. One of the colors is now discontinued and I couldn’t find the other at any of the generic craft stores that usually have plenty in stock. Fortunately there was a LNS near where I had lunch today that happened to have both colors. Other than the ick of backstitching with blending filament, I am also frustrated that the colors that were chosen for back stitch are so close to the cross stitch colors. After spending what feels like forever stitching a snowflake it doesn’t even look like I have stitched anything. I will be so proud of myself when I finish this one.

On an extremely exciting stitching note, Thursday I finished all the stitching on Stargazer. Last night and today I have been working on the beading. I started with the beading around her head which requires a lot of focus and counting as it is not close enough to the cross stitching to have easy reference points along the way. It is fun though. Once I get into the skirt, the beading should go increadibly fast as it will just be filling in empty areas between the stitching. I am really looking forward to a big finish soon.

Here is a full length image, minus some of the beading at the top.
124_2421.JPG

And a close up of her face and torso.
124_2423.JPG

Responses

  1. She is beautiful Leslie! Congrats in advance! 🙂

  2. She is lovely. I’m really looking forward to seeing her fully finished. Amazing work you have done there.

  3. She’s looking magnificent!

  4. She’s so beautiful! And was always the same way about finishing up work things before embarking on an extended “rest”!

  5. She’s gorgeous!…just stunning!

  6. She is gorgeous, Leslie! You’ll have done her in no time.

  7. She looks amazing … can’t wait to see her fully finished.

  8. Beautiful stitching!

  9. Stargazer is stunning!

  10. She is beautiful!!

  11. Oh, she’s gorgeous, Leslie. You’ll be done in no time flat at the rate you’re going. 🙂

  12. Oh Leslie – Stargazer is breathtaking! You must be soooo excited!!!! It will be finished before the baby is born – how cool is that???

  13. She is really beautiful and you are doing such a great job!

  14. Stargazer is looking gorgeous – you have done a wonderful job of the beading. 6ish weeks until maternity leave – oh you must be so excited!!

  15. She is gorgeous!!

    So exciting! Can’t be long for you til the baby is born now!

  16. oh she is so lovely!!! I look forward to you HD

  17. Wow! Can’t wait to see her finished!

  18. I’m in awe -that is truly gorgeous!!!

  19. she is sooo beautiful and you are soo close to finishing maybe next update will be a happy dance!…I cant wait

  20. Oh wow, she looks amazing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

