Posted by: ralphy36 | February 18, 2007

Toad in the nose and ice on the sidewalk

Over the course of the last week, both Allen and I have had pretty icky head colds. It is no fun, especially as Northern Virginia got a pretty significant snow/icing Tuesday into Wednesday. Because of the lousy weather, schools closed early on Tuesday and they even let administrative staff head home early. By later that night I was pretty convinced things had finished for the evening and settled for the fact that I would be heading in to so groups on Wednesday morning. Boy was I wrong! On Wednesday, I woke up to everything covered in white. I was even more surprised when I went out to start shoveling. I walked all the way down our driveway to the mailbox without making an impression in the “snow”. Allen and I both ended up taking a snow day, primarily because we were barely able to shovel out 2/3 of our drive way by 3pm. We still haven’t tackled the remaining driveway or the front steps. I will be hitting the steps tomorrow…Yippee!

With all the cold and snow, it was a perfect week to curl up and stitch. Cooper sits on the back of the couch next to my head while I stitch and help Allen play Zelda:)

Last weekend I was good and did spend some time working on Potager du Roi (Mystery 9). I got one of the middle staircases completed and started some of the beading. I picked it up again today and started working on the last little bit of this corner-the lanterns around the edge. This picture represents what I had stitched upto a few minutes ago.
121_2179.JPG

Monday and Tuesday as usual were Bordeaux Sampler nights. I finished most of the cross stitches and back stitching in part two that were done in Taro or Malt. I then chose to move on to some of the blackwork in part 3. Monday is a holiday here, so after my dentist appointment and the appraisers visit, my goal is to get the remainder of part 3’s blacwork done. Tuesday will probably be spent with a lot of Diane’s Rouge and over one grapes:)
121_2181.JPG

Wednesday saw my lady Stargazer come out to play. Despite not having the additional Saturday morning time working on her, she is still coming along nicely. I am about 1/3 of the way done with the bottom half of the pattern. As she is rather bottom heavy in terms of stitching, I am making good progress over all. Most of the top half of this piece is the beading of the stars.
121_2180.JPG

Thursday night I wandered a bit in my German Garden. I spent a lot of time back stitching that night. Not too much longer and I will be done with the first page. Yay!
121_2178.JPG

Last night was my Barnabee’s Quest SAL. I almost finished part 1 last night. All that is left is to finish the honeycomb at the bottom and to give my buggies wings and legs. Right now they can’t move much. I am really looking forward to stitching the birdhouse that is at the top of part 2 next week!
121_2177.JPG

Well, now I am off to do a bit more on Potager dur Roi before bed. Tomorrow morning Allen and I are up early to go to brunch with my parents. should be fun…and yummy! I love breakfast!

Responses

  1. All your WIPs look lovely. Great progress! 🙂

  2. Wow, you’ve got a lot in progress and everything is just beautiful.

  3. Your progress on everything is outstanding! Sorry you have been under the weather! We have viruses here.

  4. Everything looks so wonderful, Leslie!!

  5. Hope you are feeling better 🙂

    All of your projects are looking fabulous!

  6. Beautiful WIPs! Isn’t this ice icky? One of our neighbors used their snow blower on our driveway, and we still had to scrape out the underlying ice. I hope you feel better!

  7. Your work is so beautiful. What an inspiration to work on my projects so I can start more. Stay warm!

  8. Hope you are feeling better Leslie. At least you got lots pf stitching done this week!

  9. Wow! All of your work is coming along so well! Congrats.

  10. So much progress, Leslie! All your works are looking so good 🙂

  11. What great progress!

  12. Those mystery stitches look so beautiful but so complicated! You must have so much patience to stitch one of those.

    I can’t even begin to imagine so much snow. We never get much more than a fluttering here and still everything comes to a standstill!

  13. Your Mystery 9 is looking fantastic!! I love your progress on Barnabee too. I am bringing up the rear on that one!

  14. Wow, you’ve gotten a lot of stitching done, Leslie! It all looks great!

  15. Sorry to hear that you aren’t feeling well. I hope that you are doing well by now. That ice-snow-ice sandwich was truly a pain to clean up after, wasn’t it? You did a ton of stitching in the past week. Well done! You and Carol will win the race for Barnabee, I’m sure. What fast stitchers you two are. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

