Posted by: ralphy36 | February 2, 2007

Does it have to be so cold outside???

Because we lost half our heat! Last night our 21 year old upstairs furnace went out. It was really, really cold in our bedroom and we both had a difficult time sleeping. Now we have workers replacing both the furnace and the matching heat pump outside. Tons of fun! At least we have a redundant system downstairs so we didn’t totally freeze:)

UPDATE: As of 7pm this evening we are warm again. We decided to replace both the indoor furnace and the corresponding heat pump outside. They no longer make furnaces and heat pumps at the output level of what we had. Since the heat pump was pretty old too, we decided to replace the whole system instead of wasting our new more energy efficient furnace by pairing it with an out of date heat pump. Unfortunatly due to the time of day and snow, they were unable to install the new heat pump.

Now for some stitching. On Monday and Tuesday I worked very hard on Bordeaux Sampler. I am a little more than half way done with part two. This part is really pretty, but I am looking forward to the blackwork in part 3:) I should easily finish part two next week. YEAH!!!
121_2158.JPG

Wednesday was German Garden night. For some reason, I was extremely distractable and I had to finish up my Valentine’s Exchange so I didn’t get as much done as I would have liked.
121_2156.JPG

Then Thursday began the Barnabee’s Quest SAL. I am soooo loving this piece. If I hadn’t been freaking out so much about the furnace dying, I would have gotten a lot more done. I am still waiting on two krenik braids for this so I was unable to do the bee in part 1.
121_2155.JPG

Responses

  1. Yikes – not a good night for your furnace to die! I hope you get it fixed as it’s supposed to get even colder next week. Lots of progress on your projects!

  2. Wow, everything you’re working on looks wonderful (as usual). Sorry about the furnace.

  3. Your WIPS look gorgeous! Wanna switch to Friday nights for Barnabee’s Quest?

  4. Oh no, hope that furnace is working fine soon! Not a good time to break down!! Your WIP’s are gorgeous – I love to see you progressing on Bordeaux, and I’m kicking myself I didn’t have the Barnabee chart, it looks like a gorgeous and fun stitch, I might have to check into this one later after I finish the ‘challenge’ πŸ˜‰

  5. Great start too on BQ. I’m itching to stitch on it again, but I have limited myself to only 1 day a week. πŸ™‚ All your other WIPs look great too.
    It’s no fun without heating, hope it’s all fixed soon.
    Take care.

  6. Thank you so very much for stopping by my blog!!! Your works in progress are gorgeous! Glad to hear you are warm too! πŸ˜€

  7. Great progress on all dispite your heating hassles. Glad you are warm again.

  8. Great start, Leslie! You’re right, it’s funny how each of us seem to progress through the design in our own way. πŸ™‚

  9. Barnabee looks fantastic – you got a lot done! Your Bordeaux is really zooming along too. I just need the fabric for that piece…I hope to stitch it soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

