Posted by: ralphy36 | December 2, 2005

Yeah Me!! I got all of the border (except backst…


Yeah Me!!

I got all of the border (except backstitch) on the first quadrant of Olde World Map. Here is my progress. I also stitched a bit more on my garden exchange. Maybe I can finish it this weekend.

Here are my responses to some Booking Through Thursdays that I found interesting…

Biography

I’m back from vacation. Sorry about the lack of questions last week, but well, I had other things on my mind… 😉 This week’s questions are brought to you by Nicki.

  1. Biographies and autobiographies—do you read them? I am not really into autobiographies, but I love biographies, particularly of individuals prior to 1900.
  2. If so, whose life story has inspired you most and why?I find that I am most inspired by biographies of strong medieval/renessaince women who were able to have significant influence over their world.

Lost in translation

This week’s questions brought to you by Renée.

  1. Have you ever read a book in a language other than your native language? In high school, I read a short story by Thomas Mann in German. I can’t remember which one. Might have been Death in Venice, but I know I also read that for English class.
  2. If so, how would you describe your experience? It was difficult, but it felt like a great accomplishment when I was done.
  3. Have you ever read a book translated from another language into your native language? I have read a lot of classic literature that was translated from the original language. I have read Homer, Heroditus, various eastern philosphers, the Divine Comedy and Canterbury Tales in both modern and middle English. I also read The Name of the Rose.
  4. Why or why not? Most of these I had to read for some class or another in either high school or college.
  5. If so, how would you describe your experience? I just enjoy that kind of stuff.
Responses

  1. Your Olde Worlde map is looking great so far!

  2. Looks great so far, Leslie! I can see this one making its way to my wishlist!


Leave a Reply

Categories

