Posted by: ralphy36 | October 13, 2005

To start off the day I am going to answer some mem…

To start off the day I am going to answer some meme questions…

How bad is bad?

Here’s another set of questions from Nicki.

  1. What’s the worst book you’ve ever read? As I Lay Dying by William Falkner
  2. What’s the book you hated the most? Same as above
  3. Is the answer the same to both questions? If not, why not? Resounding YES
  4. Why was this book (or these books) so bad? I had to read this book as summer reading before my junior year of high school. I love to read and usually enjoyed the books I had to read for school (Until, of course, we analyzed them to death). As I Lay Dying I hated from the absolute beginning. I could never get into Falkern’s stream of conciousness style of writing and then of course we spent four AGONISING months where each student had to do a structural analysis of one of the chapters (this was a requirement for the International Baccaleaureate Diploma I was working toward). Needless to say we were all ready to burn the book by the end of the semester…and yet, by the end of the book, none of us had any clue that Dewey Dell was pregnant!!(I am sure I will get a laugh from Mom over that one!!)

Today’s “Stitching Blogger’s Question” was suggested by Outi and is:

How do you `non-hoopists’ who use a rotation system handle it (as it seems to be lot easier if you are in good terms with hoop)? Do you have several scroll frames? Do you use Q-snaps or maybe something completely different? Or do you just have one or two big projects and others are small enough to be kept in hand while stitching?
I have always hated using hoops. When I started doing larger projects, I began using scroll rods. When I decided to move to a rotation, I ended up with several scroll rod sets, but have found that it was a pain to keep taking stuff on and off to take pics for the blog, etc. Recently I have discovered the joy of qsnaps. I have three different sizes and that pretty much will cover anything sizeable that I stitch. I may get some extenders for when I start Mystery IX in January.

Now on to other things: I am almost completely finished with the bottom band on the wedding sampler I am stitching for my friends. It is “Wedding Sampler” by Stitcher’s Heaven. I picked it because it had a verse from the Book of Ruth with an option to stitch it in Hebrew. I think they will really like it and I am having a hard time resisting posting pics. I want to keep it a secret. I will post one after the holidays.
I have also been working on organizing my pattern stash. A lot of stuff that came in my most recent purchase was put in sheet protectors. I thought this would be a great idea for all of the patterns I have clipped from various stitching magazines. That way it will keep them from getting bent or wrinkled. I plan on putting any patterns that will fit into sheet protectors and organizing them in binders by subject. I love to organize stuff like that!!

To finish the day…here is a post of my little boy. In this pic he is being nice to mommy and trying to help me organize my stash. He is such a silly boy!!

Responses

  1. Aww..the kitty is such a cutie!

    The designer of The Elemental Dragons is Jennifer Aikman-Smith. These particular Dragons are Freebies so here is the link to check them out: http://dragondreams.accra.ca/Elemental.html

  2. Hi Leslie,
    Just a quick note to let you know that I mailed the Earth Angel chart off to you today 🙂 Enjoy! And thanks so much for giving it a good home! I hope to see your progress on it here in your blog someday 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

