Posted by: ralphy36 | September 23, 2005

Here is CW at thirteen hours. I love the colors i…


Here is CW at thirteen hours. I love the colors in this pattern. The slate blues are wonderful. I stitched for an hour tonight while I watched Survivor. Cross stitch and mindless television go wonderful together. i got a fair bit more gold and part of the border done today. I can’t wait to see what the next few hours of stitching on CW will bring. Now I have to wait for Allen to get home so we can watch CSI together. I am very impatient and want to watch it NOW!!!

I am also excited because my first FOTM from silkweaver was shipped today. I signed up for two pieces of standard colors of fabric, but after seeing the Solo Carol got recently, I may have to do one of their hand-dyed options as well. Up until recently, I have not been adventerous enough to stitch on much beyond neutral tone fabric. As I see more and more people using unique fabrics, I am beginning to feel more comfortable with how well it can turn out. Hopefully I will get something that will look good with one of my future projects.

Blogging Through Thursday-Abridged and edited

Another fun suggestion from Nicki. Lady, you are the bomb! If anyone has suggestions for the future, please let me know.

  1. Are abridged books a good thing or just plain awful? I am not particularly fond of abriged versions of the book. I think you end up missing a lot.
  2. How about books that are edited to modernize them? I think that it is okay for later authors to write their own modernized versions of the same story, but I am not sure about editing the original text to modernize it. I think that is what movies are for.
  3. Is dated language part of the charm of a book or an irritation? Althoug it can take longer to read, I do enjoy reading books in their original language. I read the original version of Canterbury Tales which was a lot of fun.
  4. Have you ever read an abridged or edited version of a book? I don’t think so.
Responses

  1. Your CW looks wonderful ๐Ÿ™‚

    Congrats on joining Silkweaver’s FOTM!! Yes, you must try the hand dyeds – once you do, there is really no turning back – LOL!! (And, yes, the solo they sent me this month really is a beauty, isn’t it??)

  2. Your progress looks GREAT!!

    Another Silkweaver “soloist” here…I look forward to my shipment each month! I have received some really great ones ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Your CW is looking really good – great idea starting at the bottom where all swirly bits are!

  4. CW is looking great! I am looking forward to see the progress on her.


Leave a Reply

Categories

